Heritage Vancouver Society

WW1: Behind the Scenes at Beatty Street Drill Hall
October 8, 2014 - 6:30pm - 8:30pm
Beatty Street Drill Hall
620 Beatty St
CPD Learning Units: 

Tour Guide: Keith Maxwell and Cameron Cathcart

The Drill Hall (620 Beatty Street), a Canadian Forces armoury was opened by the Duke of Cornwall and York (later King George V) in 1901. The Drill Hall played a prominent role in WW1 as troops prepared for the journey overseas. With two large castle-like turrets complete with battlements, and two tanks and a 64-pounder Gun outside, the Beatty Street Drill Hall has long been a Vancouver landmark and is listed as a class-A heritage building. The Drill Hall is the oldest building in downtown Vancouver that still retains its original use.

This is a unique opportunity for a tour inside the hall and the regimental museum with archivist Colonel (Ret’d) Keith Maxwell, and Honorary Major Cameron Cathcart, on an evening when the British Columbia Regiment is training there. The British Columbia Regiment (Duke of Connaught's Own), is an armoured reconnaissance reserve Regiment, the oldest Regiment west of Ontario, and the senior militia unit in the province. The museum displays date back to 1883 including uniforms, weapons, medals and Nazi regalia. The guided tour of the hall and museum will conclude in the Officers’ Mess with the opportunity to mingle in this beautiful room.

Tickets: $20, $15 Heritage Vancouver members


Tickets available at http://www.heritagevancouver.org/ or in cash at the tour.